Maha Ganapati Form of Lord Ganesh

Maha Ganapati is the 13th of the 32 forms of Lord Ganesha. Maha literally means “the Great” and is one among the most commonly worshipped for of Lord Ganesh. In this form Ganapathi is depicted with three eyes and a crescent moon on his head, like his father Lord Shiva. The lord appears with ten hands and is red in complexion and seen with his consort seated on the left thigh. On his hand holds his tusk, a pomegranate, a sugarcane bow, chakra (discuss), noose, a blue lily, a sprig of paddy, a lotus, a mace and ratnakumbha (pot containing gems).

Picture of Maha Ganapati form of 32 forms of Lord Ganesh or Ganapathi

Pooyam (Pushya) Nakshatra is related to Maha Ganapati. Worshipping this form is believed to give prosperity and very meritorious. Praying to lord everyday will help devotees attain great glory. Maha Ganapati can be worshipped in the famous Lord Krishna Temple in Dwaraka, Gujarat.  It is believed that Sri Krishna is offering prayer to Maha Ganapati. Also temples in Chamarajanagar  and Nanjangud in Mysore district of Karnataka has 32 forms of Ganapati sculptures.

Maha Ganapati Mantra

“Hasteemdranana Minduchuda Marunachayam Trinetram Rasah
Dashilishtam Priyaya Sa Padmakaraya Svankashtayah Santatam
Beejapoora Gadekshu Karmuka Laschhakrabja Pashotapala
Vreehagra Svavishaana Ratna Kalasham Hastaih Vahantam Bhaje.”

English Translation of Maha Ganapathi Mantra

“The Great Ganapati” with a shakti. He has ten hands. He is red in colour. His hands hold the single tusk, the pomegranate, the club, the sugar-cane bow, the disc, the conch, the noose, the nocturnal lotus, the paddy ear, the jewels pot.

No comments:

Post a Comment