Sapthagiri or Tirumala Hill - The Seven Hills of Tirumala Tirupati

Sapthagiri or Tirumala Hill is located in the hill town of Tirumala near Tirupati in the Chittoor district of Andhra Pradesh, India. The hill is famous for the Tirupati Venkateswara Temple located here. 

Sapthagiri which literally means Seven Hills is the name given for 7 Peaks representing the seven heads of Adishesha (the king of all Nagas, in which Lord Vishnu resides). The Seven Hills also represents the Saptarishi in Hinduism (seven sages).

The Seven Sapthagiri Hills of Tirumala Tirupati

1) Vrushabhadri – Hill of Nandi
2) Anjanadri – Hill of Anjaneya or Lord Hanuman
3) Neeladri – Hill of Neela Devi
4) Garudadri or Garudachalam – Hill of Garuda
5) Seshadri or Seshachalam – Hill of Adi Sesha
6) Naraynadri – Hill of Sage Narada
7) Venkatadri – Hill of Venkateswara

Sapthagiri or Seven Hills in Tirumala Tirupati Venkateswara Temple Andhrapradesh

Tirupati Venkateswara Swamy Temple is located on the seventh peak, Venkatadri.

Sapthagiri is also known as Seshachalam. Sapthagiri Hills is around 138 km from Chennai, 291 km from Bangalore, and 600 km from Hyderabad.


Search Hindu Devotional Topics

Contact Hindu Devotional Blog


Email *

Message *