Kanchipuram City of Thousand Temples

Kanchipuram, the city of thousand temples, is situated on the north-eastern coast of Tamil Nadu, adjacent to the Bay of Bengal and Chennai. It was called as Kachi, Conjevaram and Kachiampathi in ancient times. 

Kanchipuram, the City of Thousand Temples

Kanchipuram is regarded as one of the seven holiest cities to the Hindus of India where worshiping will helps to attain Moksha. Located on the Palar River, the temple town is renowned for its temples and hand woven silk saris. Highest quality silk and pure gold threads are used by the weavers. The city is bounded in the west by Vellore and Thiruvannamalai districts, in the north by Thiruvallur district and Chennai district, in the south by Villupuram district and in the east by Bay of Bengal. 

One of the oldest cities in South India, Kanchipuram was the historical capital of the Pallavas during the 7th - 9th centuries, and then became the fort of Cholas, Vijayanagar Kings, the Muslim and the British. The city got its fame during the reign of Pallava dynasty and many of the famous temples were built during their reign. The silk city is also regarded as one of the seven sacred cities of India. 

The magnificent temples of Kanchipuram are unique in their architectural beauty, reflecting the Dravidian tradition. Kanchi Matha, an ancient Hindu institution under the leadership of Shri Chandrashekarendra Saraswati, is located here. Kanchipuram was a city of learning for Tamil and Telugu, and the great Chinese traveler, Xuanzang (Hsuan Tsang), is believed to have visited the city in the 7th century.

Kanchipuram City of Thousand Temples

Vishnu Kanchi & Shivan Kanchi

Kanchipuram is a pilgrimage site for both Saivites and Vaishnavites. There are two sects in Kanchipuram : Vishnu Kanchi, where all the Vishnu Temples are found and Shivan Kanchi where all the Shivan and Shakthi Temples are found. 

Kanchipuram is the abode of Ekambaranathar Temple, which is one of the five Panchabhootha Sthalams of Lord Shiva. Kanchipuram also houses 14 among the 108 holy temples of Lord Vishnu. There are also numerous Jain Temples in Kanchipuram. 

Famous Shiva Temples in Kachipuram

1) Kanchi Kailasanathar Temple
2) Ekambareswarar Temple
3) Kachapeshwarar Temple - Karchapeswarar Temple
4) Iravatanesvara temple

Famous Vishnu Temples in Kanchipuram

1) Varadharaja Perumal Temple
2) Ulahalanda Perumal Temple
3) Vaikunta Perumal Temple - Thiru Parameswara Vinnagaram
4) Vijayaraghava Perumal Temple
5) Ashtabujakaram - Sri Adhikesava Perumal Temple
6) Tiruvekkaa - Sri Yathothkari Temple
7) Tiruththanka - Sri Deepa prakasa Perumal Temple
8) Tiruvelukkai - Sri Azhagiya Singar Temple
9) Tirukalvanoor - Sri Adi Varaha Swami Temple
10) Tirupaadagam - Sri Pandava Thoodar Temple
11) Tiruoorakam - Sri Ulagalantha Swami Temple
12) Tirupavalavannam - Sri Pavala Vanar Temple
13) Tirupputkuzhi - Sri Vijaya Raghava Perumal Temle
14) Tirunilaaththingalthundam - Sri Nilathingal Thundathan Perumal Temple

Other Important Temples in Kanchipuram

1) Kamakshi Amman Temple
2) Kumarakottam Temple of Muruga
3) Muktheeswarar Temple
4) Karaithirunathar Temple
5) Onakanthan Tali
6) Kachi Anekatangapadam
7) Thirumagaraleeswarar Temple
8) Vazhakarutheeswarar Temple
9) Chitragupta Temple


Search Hindu Devotional Topics

Contact Hindu Devotional Blog


Email *

Message *