Pancha Bootha Temples of Shiva

Pancha Bootha Temples of Lord Shiva are the five famous Hindu temples which represent the manifestation of the five prime elements of nature - Water, Fire, Air, Earth and Space. These five elements are believed to be enshrined in the five Shiva Lingas worshiped in Pancha Bhoota Stalas. 

Pancha literally means “Five”, Bhoota means “elements” and Stala means “place”. Of the five Pancha Bootha temples, four temples are located in Tamil Nadu and one at Andhra Pradesh.

List of Panchabhoota Temples of Lord Shiva

1) Ekambareswarar Temple in Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu (Land)

3) Jambukeswarar Temple, Thiruvanaikaval, Trichy, Tamil Nadu (Water)

5) Kalahastheeswara Temple, Srikalahasti, Andhra Pradesh (Air)

Each Shiva Lingas in the temple are known by the names as below:

Prithivi Lingam is in Ekambareswarar Temple.

Appu Lingam or Jambu Lingam is in Thiruvanaikaval Temple.

Agni Lingam or Jyothi Lingam is in Annamalaiyar Temple, Thiruvannamalai

Vayu Lingam is in Sri Srikalahasti Temple, Andhra Pradesh

Aagaya Lingam or Akasha Linga is in Thillai Natarajar Temple, Chidambaram

Pancha Bootha Temples of Shiva

Image of one of Panchabhoota temple Sri Tiruvannamalai Annamalaiyar 


Search Hindu Devotional Topics

Contact Hindu Devotional Blog


Email *

Message *