Lord Shiva Hindu God Siva

Lord Shiva is one of the main Gods of Hinduism, worshipped as the supreme God. Shiva is one of the most multifaceted gods of Hinduism, embodying seemingly contradictory qualities. He is the destroyer and restorer, the great ascetic and the symbol of sensuality. Shiva performs several roles as a Hindu deity. 

Among the Trimurti - the Hindu Trinity of the primary aspects of the divine - Lord Shiva is the destroyer of evil, following Lord Brahma, the creator and Lord Vishnu, the preserver, after which Brahma again creates the world and so on. Shiva is responsible for change both in the form of death and destruction and in the positive sense of destroying the ego, the false identification with the form. Lord Shiva with his consort Goddess Parvati is also depicted as the icon of true love and peaceful married life. Lord Ganesha and Lord Murugan (Kartikeya or Skanda) are the two sons of Shivdev. 

Popular Names of Lord Shiva

Some of the most popular names of Lord Shiva include Mahadeva, Vishwanath, Sankara, Pashupati, Bhole Nath, Mahayogi, Bhairava, Bhava, Nataraja, and Siva. Read about the 5 different forms of Shiva here.

Main Mantra of Shiva

Om Namah Shivaya

Picture of Lord Shiva - Hindu God and Trimurti in Hinduism

Festivals of Lord Shiva

The main celebration of Lord Shiva happens during Shivaratri which is celebrated every year on the 13th or the 14th day of the new moon in the Krishna Paksha in Hindu calendar. Maha Sivaratri marks the night when Lord Shiva performed the ‘Tandava’ and it is also believed that Lord Shiva was married to Parvati on this day. On this day Hindus observe fast, offer fruits and flowers and Bilwa leaves to Shiva linga.

Famous Temples of Lord Shiva 

There are numerous temples of Lord Shiva all over India as well as in other countries. Some of the main temples of Shiva include the 12 Jyotirlingas Temples of Shiva and many other temples of equal importance. Some of the main Shiva temples in India include


  1. Siva, being one of the main Gods in Hinduism, is one of the most worshipped deities. The number of likes in Lord Shiva is an example for this.

  2. शिवनेश्वर महाराज की जय ,देवस्थान सिमनगाव ता.सेलू जि.परभणी.

  3. Lord Shiva is the most powerful God than anyone and Mahashivratri is a very important occassion.

    1. what is the meaning of god and where should we see the god an out side and our's inside

  4. Please add Tarakeswar Lord Shiva Temple Also

  5. The panchabootha sthalas – Pancha bootham means 5 elements (‘pancha’ – meaning 5, ‘bootha’ – meaning elements and ‘sthala’ meaning location). The 5 basic elements are earth(Nilam), water(Neer), fire(Neruppu), air(Katru) and space(Aagayam). According to Hindu mythology the five lingas represent the five great elements established in the five great ‘Kshetras’

    Ekambareswarar Temple at Kanchipuram – Earth

    Jambukeswarar Temple at Tiruvanaikka – Water

    Annamalaiyar Temple at Tiruvannamalai – Fire

    Sri Kalahasthi Temple at Srikalahasthi – Air

    Chidambaram Natarajar Temple at Chidambaram – Space


Post a Comment

Contact Hindu Devotional Blog


Email *

Message *