Ahobilam Nallamalai Hills - Adobe of Lord Narasimha

Ahobilam, also known as Ahobalam, is regarded as the adobe of Lord Narasimha, the lion-human form of Hindu God Vishnu and is located in the Kurnool district of Andhra Pradesh, India. 

Ahobilam Nallamalai Hills - The Adobe of Narasimha

It is unique among the other places of Narasimha worship, as this is the only place where all the nine forms of Lord Narasimha are worshipped. Hence Ahobilam is also called as Nava Narasimha Kshetra. Ahobilam is also one of the 108 Vaishnava Divyadesams and is located about 40 km from Nandyal and about 150 km from Kurnool.

The Nava Narasimha Kshetram at Ahobilam consists of 9 temples where nine different forms of Lord Narasimha are enshrined. These nine temples around the Nallamala Forest range and are in two parts Lower Ahobila and upper Ahobila. In the lower Ahobila Lakshmi Narasimha Swami is in a peaceful form and Narsimha Swamy is seen in fierce form in Upper Ahobila. Some temples are inside the cave; a few temples can be reached through trekking and a few temples are very difficult to trek to.

The 9 Narasimha Temples in Ahobilam are

1) Varaha Narasimha Swamy
2) Malola Narasimha Swamy
3) Yogananda Narasimha Swamy

4) Pavana Narasimha Swamy
5) Karanja Narasimha Swamy
6) Chatravata Narasimha Swamy

7) Bhargava Narasimha Swamy
8) Jwala Narasimha Swamy
9) Ahobila (Ugra) Narasimha Swamy

Ahobilam Nallamalai Hills Adobe Narasimha


Search Hindu Devotional Topics

Contact Hindu Devotional Blog


Email *

Message *